跳到内容
开始内容

岭大视角

服务精神谱写丰盛大学生涯

服务精神谱写丰盛大学生涯

到了五月,新一批应届毕业生已准备好翻开人生新一页,当中包括翻译系四年级学生陈艳贵。她获颁发「伍沾德博士伉俪杰出服务奖」学生组别奖项,表扬她致力服务大学和社会。

 

回想过去四年的大学生活,艳贵要特别感谢岭大提供多元化的服务研习机会。一年级的时候,她报读了一个服务研习科目,为某个服务自闭症患者的组织翻译宣传短片的字幕,因而有机会接触一些自闭症患者,让她更明白他们的需要,以及体会到政府支援的重要性。她说:「我意识到自己很喜欢做社区服务,也认为这是我应该要做的事。自此,服务成为我人生的一部分。」

 

服务自闭症患者的经历让艳贵获益匪浅,令她下定决心要进一步投入服务研习,并从二年级起担任服务研习教学助理。她说:「我们的职责广泛,其中之一是作为服务机构和大学之间的桥梁。我很高兴能应用课堂上学到的理论与知识。」作为教学助理,艳贵不仅学会了与不同人士互动沟通,亦学懂妥善管理自己的时间。她认为若要保持服务的热诚,选择个人感兴趣的领域是很重要的。她补充道:「要成就伟大的事,你必先热爱自己所做的事。」

 

虽然艳贵抱有服务的热忱,但她亦曾经却步去反思「助人」的意义,尤其是在那次为期一个月的印度服务之旅。她说:「我们每天探访孤儿院,希望为他们带来欢乐,但却事与愿违。初次造访时,那些小孤儿出於对我们这些陌生人的恐惧而大喊大叫。然而,当我们要道别时,他们又不舍我们的离开而再次哭起来。面对他们的情绪负担,我怀疑去探望他们,究竟为了建立还是破坏他们对成年人的信任?我顿时失去了前进的动力。」

 

她后来明白到,服务的价值不应以结果来衡量,重要的是对服务对象的真心关怀。她解释说:「我所做的也许是微不足道。不过,对那些在缺乏家庭温暖情况下成长的孤儿来说,『爱』的意义来得特别深厚。我们的出现,为他们带来快乐,也安抚他们的心,让他们明白来自任何背景的人都应该得到爱。」

 

除了投身国际服务之外,艳贵更多走一步,积极向海外学生宣扬岭大「作育英才,服务社会」的校训。去年夏天,她远赴美国参加了一个为期两星期的活动,与当地大学生交流对服务研习的见解,她表示:「大学生应该保持开放的态度,观察周围发生的事情,寻找为社会作出贡献的途径。」透过艳贵和其组员的分享,美国学生非常欣赏岭大把学术研习和社区服务融会贯通。她说:「我希望世界各地的大学生能够互相学习,共同努力创造美好的未来。」

  University life blossomed with a serving spirit  University life blossomed with a serving spirit  University life blossomed with a serving spirit

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Insights

University life blossomed with a serving spirit

University life blossomed with a serving spirit

When it comes to May, a new batch of fresh graduates is ready to turn a new chapter of their life.  Among them is Chan Yim-kwai, a year-four student of Translation who has received the Dr and Mrs James Tak Wu Award for Outstanding Service (Student Award) in recognition of her strong commitment to serving both the University and society.

 

Recalling her four-year university life, Yim-kwai thanked Lingnan for the diverse service-learning opportunities offered.  During her first year of study, she came across a service-learning course in which she had to translate the subtitles of promotional clips of an organisation that serves patients with autism.  Through interacting with the patients, Yim-kwai understood more of their needs and the importance of government support.  “I realised that community service is what I like to do and what I believe I should do.  It has then become part of my life,” she said.

 

Based on the fruitful experience of serving the autistic patients, Yim-kwai decided to further commit herself to service-learning through assuming the role of Service-Learning Teaching Assistant in year two.  “We were exposed to a wide range of duties such as acting as the point of contact between the service agencies and the University.  I felt glad to be able to apply the theories and knowledge learned in classroom,” she said.  Serving as a Teaching Assistant, Yim-kwai not only learned how to interact with different people, but also how to manage her time properly.  To keep up with the passion of serving, she believes it is important to commit to services based on one’s interests.  “The only way to do great work is to love what you do,” she added.

 

Despite her strong serving spirit, there were times when Yim-kwai stepped back to ponder over the meaning of “help”, especially during her one-month service trip to India.  “We paid daily visits to the orphanages with a hope to bring them happiness but things did not go as planned.  On our first arrival, the orphans cried out of fear for strangers like us.  When we bade them farewell, they cried again seeing us depart.  Facing their emotional burdens, I doubted if I was there to help build or destroy their trust on adults.  I lost the motivation to move on,” she said.

 

She later realised that the value of service should not be weighed by the outcomes but the genuine care towards the service targets.  “What I did may be trivial.  Nevertheless, to those little orphans who grow up without family care, ‘love’ means a lot to them.  Our presence brought them happiness and reassured them everyone deserves to be loved regardless of their background,” she explained.

 

Apart from devoting herself in international services, Yim-kwai has also gone an extra mile to promote the University’s motto of “Education for Service” to students abroad.  Last summer, she attended a two-week programme in the US, exchanging insights on service-learning with the local university students.  “University students should keep their minds open, observe what is happening around them and look for ways to contribute to society,” she shared.  Through the presentation by Yim-kwai and her teammates, the US students were impressed by the fine integration between academic studies and community service practised at Lingnan.  “I hope university students around the world can learn from each other and work together for a better future,” said Yim-kwai.

  University life blossomed with a serving spirit  University life blossomed with a serving spirit  University life blossomed with a serving spirit